The James Buchanan Brady Urological Institute
Volume VIII, Winter 2012
Read About the Research You Have Helped Make Possible

For six years now, the Patrick C. Walsh Prostate Cancer Research Fund has been encouraging and rewarding promising scientists who are interested in helping us find the cure for prostate cancer. Anyone, in any discipline, is welcome to apply; if someone has a good idea, and our Scientifi c Advisory Board thinks it’s worth pursuing, we provide $75,000 a year for two years to support pilot projects, to test proof of principle. This provides the investigator with valuable preliminary data to use when applying for continued funding from agencies like the National Institutes of Health. This unique Fund began, is sustained, and continues because of great generosity, from you, our wonderful patients and friends who share our commitment to curing prostate cancer.

So far, your help has allowed us to raise more than $30 million. We have funded proposals from the best and brightest scientists at Johns Hopkins, in many departments, including: Oncology, Pathology, Medicine, Mechanical Engineering, Radiology, Urology, and the School of Public Health. Our scientifi c advisory board is made up of distinguished Hopkins scientists and two lay members, Christian Evensen and Samuel Himmelrich. Some of the work of the scientists funded this year is described below. Also, because we are so proud of our awardees, we thought you might like to see the names of the scientists who have been awarded grants from our Fund.

The 2011 Awardees

Mohamad E. Allaf, M.D.
The Peter Jay Sharp Foundation Scholar
Departments of Urology, Oncology, and Biomedical Engineering

Trinity Bivalacqua, M.D., Ph.D.
Prostate Cancer Team Scholar
Departments of Urology and Oncology

Gerald W. Hart, Ph.D.
The Beth W. and A. Ross Myers Scholar
Department of Biological Chemistry

John T. Isaacs, Ph.D.
The R. Christian B. Evensen Scholar
Departments of Urology and Oncology

Phuoc Tran, M.D., Ph.D.
The Phyllis and Brian L. Harvey Scholar
Department of Radiation Oncology and Molecular Radiation Sciences

The 2011 Awardees in their Second Year of Funding

Charles Drake, M.D., Ph.D.
The Nancy and Jim O’Neal Scholar
Departments of Oncology, Immunology, and Urology

William B. Isaacs, Ph.D.
The Dr. and Mrs. Peter S. Bing Scholar
Departments of Urology and Oncology

Prakash Kulkarni, Ph.D.
The Irene and Bernard L. Schwartz Scholar
Department of Urology

Jun Luo, Ph.D.
The Carolyn and Bill Stutt Scholar
Department of Urology

Alan Meeker, Ph.D.
The Virginia and Warren Schwerin Scholar
Departments of Pathology and Urology


© The Johns Hopkins University, The Johns Hopkins Hospital, and Johns Hopkins Health System. All rights reserved.| Disclaimer
Email: | 600 North Wolfe Street, Baltimore, Maryland 21287