Kenneth J. Pienta, M.D.

The Donald S. Coffey Professor of Urology
Professor of Oncology
Professor of Pharmacology and Molecular Sciences

The Johns Hopkins Hospital
600 N. Wolfe Street / Marburg 121

Office: 410-502-3137


Dr. Pienta has international expertise in the development of novel chemotherapeutic programs for prostate cancer. Dr. Pienta has championed the concept that translational research is often best accomplished by multi-disciplinary teams of scientists and clinicians. The success of these endeavors led to the receipt of the 2007 first annual American Association for Cancer Research Team Science Award. He is the author of more than 300 peer-reviewed articles, and been the principle investigator on numerous local and national clinical trials. Throughout his career, Dr. Pienta has effectively mentored over 40 students, residents, and fellows to successful careers in medicine.


1978-81     University of Michigan


Undergraduate, B.A.

The Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD
Human Biology

Doctoral, M.D.

The Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD                     

Intern, University of Chicago Hospitals and Clinics, Chicago, IL                                 
Internal Medicine


Resident, University of Chicago                                           
Hospitals and Clinics, Chicago, IL
Internal Medicine


Clinical Fellow in Oncology, The Johns Hopkins                  
University School of Medicine, Baltimore, MD


Dr. Pienta has published over 400 peer-reviewed publications as well as numerous books, book chapters, and other publications. A complete list of his peer-reviewed publications can be accessed at PubMed


1991-present   American Society of Clinical Oncologists; Member
1991-present   American Association of Cancer Research; Member
1991-present   American Urologic Association; Member
1995-present   American College of Physicians; Fellow 
2000-present   Society of Urologic Oncology; Member
2004-present   Society of Basic Urologic Research; Member           
2005-present   Metastasis Research Society; Member
2005-present   American Society of Clinical Investigators; Member
2006-present   Central Society for Clinical Research; Member
2008-present   International Bone and Mineral Society; Member
2009-present   Society for Clinical and Translational Science; Member
2012-present   European Association for Cancer Research; Member

Awards & Honors

    1982, 1983

    The Johns Hopkins University Student Summer Research Fellowship


    Henry Strong Denison Scholar, The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine


    American Urological Association Student Scholar

    1988 Alpha Omega Alpha
    1988-1992  Clinical Investigator, The American Board of Internal Medicine
    1990 Diplomat, The American Board of Internal Medicine
    1993-1998 Association for the Cure of Cancer of the Prostate Research Award
    1998 The Rena Schechter Memorial Lecturer in Cancer Research, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, MO
    1999 A Leading Faculty educator in the Dept. of Int. Medicine, University of Michigan
    1999-2003 Association for the Cure of Cancer of the Prostate Research Award
    2003 - American Cancer Society Clinical Research Professorship Award
    2004-2008 Prostate Cancer Foundation Research Award
    2005 American Society of Clinical Investigators
    2007 American Association for Cancer Research Team Science Award
    2005-2012  Inclusion in "America's Top Doctors"
    2008-2012 Inclusion in "Best Doctors" in America
    2006-2012  Inclusion in "America's Top Doctors for Cancer"
    2008-2011 Inclusion in "Patients' Choice Award"
    2009 American Urological Association Distinguished Mentor of the Year Award
    2009 Prostate Cancer Foundation Core Values Award
    2010-2011 Inclusion in Who's Who in Healthcare – "Montclair Who's Who"
    2011 Induction into the Society of Scholars of the Johns Hopkins University
    2011 Inclusion in "League of Research Excellence" – University of Michigan Medical School
    2012 Inclusion in Strathmore's WHO'S WHO
    2011-2014  Alfred Taubman Scholar Award – Taubman Medical Research Institute – University of Michigan