prostate cancer discovery

Read About the Research You have Helped Make Possible.

the patrick c. walsh prostate cancer research fund


We’re beginning our second decade! Since 2005, the Patrick C. Walsh Prostate Cancer Research Fund has awarded millions of dollars to Johns Hopkins scientists in every discipline with good ideas worth pursuing that can help us understand more about prostate cancer — and help us save lives with better ways to treat and prevent it. Applications are reviewed by a Scientific Advisory

Board composed of noted Hopkins scientists and lay members. These awards would not be possible without the tremendous and amazing generosity of our patients and friends. Here’s some of the exciting work this year’s award winners are doing, which wouldn’t be possible without your help.


Alex Baras, M.D., Ph.D.
The Peter Jay Sharp Foundation Scholar,
Departments of Pathology, Urology, and Oncology
W. Nathaniel Brennen, Ph.D.
The R. Christian B. Evensen Scholar,
Department of Oncology
Misop Han, M.D.
The Carolyn and Bill Stutt Scholar,
Department of Urology
Paula Hurley, Ph.D.
The Beth W. and A. Ross Myers Scholar,
Departments of Urology and Oncology
William Isaacs, Ph.D
The Virginia and Warren Schwerin Scholar, Departments of Urology and Oncology
Michael H. Johnson, M.D.
The Phyllis and Brian L. Harvey Scholar, Department of Urology
Marikki Laiho, M.D., Ph.D.
The Dr. and Mrs. Peter S. Bing Scholar,
Departments of Radiation Oncology
and Molecular Radiation Sciences
and Oncology
Shawn Lupold, Ph.D.
The Nancy and Jim O’Neal Scholar,
Departments of Urology and Oncology
Karen Sfanos, M.S., Ph.D.
The Irene and Bernard L. Schwartz
Scholar, Departments of Pathology,
Oncology, and Urology
Dan Stoianovici, Ph.D.
The Thomas C. Quirt and Jack W. Shay Scholar, Department of Urology

© The Johns Hopkins University, The Johns Hopkins Hospital, and Johns Hopkins Health System. All rights reserved. Disclaimer
Email: | 600 North Wolfe Street, Baltimore, Maryland 21287

urology second opinion urology second opinion