The Patrick C. Walsh Prostate Cancer Research Fund Awardees  
Read About the Research You Have Helped Make Possible


The Patrick C. Walsh Prostate Cancer Research fund began four years ago, and remains strong today, as the result of the great generosity of many patients and friends. The idea was new: A call to Hopkins scientists of all disciplines, looking for good ideas worth pursuing that might lead us a few steps closer to a cure for prostate cancer.
Since then, we have funded proposals from the best and brightest scientists at Hopkins in many departments, including: Oncology, Pathology, Medicine, Mechanical Engineering, Radiology, Urology, and the School of Public Health. Our scientific advisory board is made up of distinguished Hopkins scientists and two lay members, Joseph Rascoff, Chairman of the Johns Hopkins Prostate Cancer Advisory Board (for more on this Board, see page 16), and Samuel Himmelrich. So far, we have raised $30 million, and received nearly 150 applications. This year, we awarded more than $1 million to 15 recipients. Some of their work is described in this newsletter.

The 2007–2008 Awardees
Arthur Burnett, M.D.
Department of Urology

H. Ballentine Carter, M.D.
The Peter Jay Sharp Foundation Scholar
Department of Urology

Angelo De Marzo, M.D., Ph.D.
Beth W. and A. Ross Myers Scholar
Department of Pathology

Jun Luo, Ph.D.
Phyllis and Brian L. Harvey Scholar
Department of Urology

Alan Meeker, Ph.D.
Departments of Urology and Oncology

George Netto, M.D.
Department of Pathology

Dan Stoianovici, Ph.D.
R. Christian B. Evensen Scholar
Department of Urology

© The Johns Hopkins University, The Johns Hopkins Hospital, and Johns Hopkins Health System. All rights reserved. Disclaimer
Email: webmaster@urology.jhu.edu | 600 North Wolfe Street, Baltimore, Maryland 21287

urology second opinion urology second opinion